Other Stuff – Humans, Part One.

Any of you ever been to New York, and as you’re on an off-ramp, some guy with a squeegee holds your car hostage? You know what I mean. Without asking he starts cleaning your window, you protest, he continues. He finishes and, holds his hands out for a “donation.”

I remember once when I was a kid and this happened. My father was driving. He didn’t give The Squeegee-Wielding-Man money. The Squeegee-Wielding-Man seemed to not understand this turn of events. Then he smacked the car windshield with his wet squeegee, thus ruining both his clean windshield legacy and any chance for a tip.

Thirty-five years later, a similar situation occurs.

There are some properties I take care of here in Savannah Ga., USA (notice I include USA so as not to confuse my plethora of international readers). I received a phone call from a tenant recently. She said a man just showed up and started painting the outside of her building. No one asked him to do this. He was wanting a “donation.” I was out of town at the time, so I told the tenant to have the Paint-Brush-Wielding-Man call me. He graciously took time out of his busy schedule and called me. I explained to him that what he was doing was vandalism and if he continued to paint he would be arrested for trespassing. Of course, I’m sure it didn’t help that the tenant had already called the police. Why did that not help? They came, the Paint-Brush-Wielding-Man (PBWM) told them he had permission, so they left. I can only assume the “Hot Doughnuts Now” sign was on at the nearby Krispy-Kreme.

And by the way, why is it considered acceptable for businesses to substitute the letter “K” for “C”? Kut ‘n’ Kurl, Kiddie Day Kare, Knights Inn. Did Krispy Kreme start this? Why is this allowed?!

But I digress.

Recently, I was repairing some window frames at the same property. Below is a picture of what a person walking by would have seen.


What do you see? A skill saw, table saw, chop saw, jig saw, palm sander, drill, wood, saw dust, a work-vehicle with lettering on the window that says “Home Repair”, and a saw horse that had to be put out of it’s misery.

Amidst all this, a man walks up to me and asks, “So, what are you, a carpenter?”

Of course I’m a karpenter! These krazy people are driving me knuts.

One thought on “Other Stuff – Humans, Part One.

  1. I GET IT! I went to the beach the other day with some friends passing through the city. At every traffic light there was a group of tigres washing your windshield whether you wanted them to or not. The first guy did a good job so we give him 5 pesos. The next guy we tell him no need, we just had it cleaned, so he backed off. Coming up to the next traffic light (green I mind you) there’s a punk standing in the middle of the street making me miss the light so he can wash my windows. I was so mad! I told him the car was clean and I was not paying him to wash a car that wasn’t even mine for the third time in 10 minutes! Calm down Lindsay! So I just sat there and let him work for free while watching me eat my yummy Doritos

Leave a Reply

