Other Stuff – Who?

The other day, Jenny and I were with some Libyan friends, and they wanted to share with us a YouTube video they discovered. The video is below:

Funny, and clever. I asked if they had ever seen the comedy skit it was based on, Who’s On First? by Abbott and Costello.

Blank stares.

I could imagine what they’re thinking: Based on? Abbot and what fellow?

Bud Abbott and Lou Costello, famous comedy team, started in Vaudville.

More blank stares. Vaudville? Is that near Pensicola?

I know what you’re thinking: How could Libyans be expected to know about Abbot & Costello? Well, I don’t know what cable TV is like in Libya. I assume they have something like Nickelodeon, maybe Dinarodeon.

You see, the Dinar is the Libyan currency. Nickel, Dinar, get it ?

Comedy Rule # 1: when you have to explain a joke, it’s no longer a joke. But in this case, if you’re Libyan, you do get it.

No need to worry. Due to the WOTI (Wonders of the Internet) and Android based phones, we were able to immediately show them the clip below:

Which brings us to the next obvious question: Who named the World Health Organization? Or, as they are more frequently referred to, WHO. I spent at least 2 minutes of arduous research on this question, and found nothing. Didn’t they realize that the acronym WHO would be problematic? Look at the headlines pictured below:

In my head, I have a vision of Lou Costello reading the headlines about WHO and saying, “THAT’S WHAT I’M TRYIN’ TA FIND OUT!”.

Couldn’t they have named themselves the World Eupepsia organization (WE)? Or, Sound And Youthful World Health Organization (SAYSWHO)? Don’t these organizations have any imagination?

Or better yet, they could have talked to the writers of the TV show from 1964, The Man From U.N.C.L.E.  What did U.N.C.L.E stand for? Originally, nothing! But the creators/writers eventually had to come up with something, so it stands for United Network Command for Law and Enforcement. They wanted it to be United Nations Command for Law Enforcement, but they couldn’t get permission.

On a side note, not only was that a cool title, but the name of the lead characters were Napoleon Solo and Illya Kuryakin. Can you think of anything more cool than that! Save time and stop trying! You can’t!

Now think about this: Libya, Bush, Abbott and Costello, WHO, the United Nations, The Man From U.N.C.L.E., United Network, United Nations.

Kinda freaky, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “Other Stuff – Who?

  1. Something similar happened to me a few weeks ago out in service. My wife and I were out with two kids in the hall, one of them 17. She was talking about school that made me think of a Duck Soup reference. I don’t expect her to get it but I let them know it’s a Marx Brothers movie. I might as well had said it was a movie about a sad Russian poet. Just blank stares all around. So I explained who Marx brothers were. Just a sad day.

    Bonus joke (old set up tweaked to match the blog post):

    Dinar? I hardly knew her!

  2. You may not believe me but, I have actually seen the “Who’s on first?” clip several times. It’s hilarious!

    Thanks for the cool post 🙂

    Daniella

Leave a Reply

