Other Stuff – Sign Language

Don’t expect a deep thought provoking discourse on sign language here. This is just a reason to show a really cute video that doesn’t involve cats.

My wife, Jenny, is a sign language interpreter. Many people who know sign language well, aren’t very good interpreters. It requires a skill set of which I am lacking. Although, I did actually work as an interpreter for two semesters at a community college. At this particular college, the teachers didn’t do much teaching, so after the introductory “Good morning class, here’s your assignment” sentence was interpreted, I basically spent the rest of the time catching up on my reading. And was paid a ridiculous amount of money. Sweet gig.

Interestingly enough, according to RID (Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, an organization who’s main goal seems to be the formation of acronyms) 87.3% of interpreters are female. Is this because it gives women (who love to talk more than men), the ability to communicate in two languages at one time, thus increasing their CT (Communication Tsunami) by 200%? While some would say that’s a question best left unanswered, obviously the answer is YES!

Which brings us to the video below. Paul and Tina Sirimarco are the couple in the video. She is an interpreter, and he is a supportive husband. Here they are doing a sign language interpretation of the song “You’re the One That I Want” as they drive.

I feel compelled to say that if they continue doing this while driving, they may soon be the “late” Paul & Tina. But they seemed to have survived this filming, so I’ll share it with you.

There are two things about this video I like: The obvious fun she is having doing this, while he seems to be doing it to be supportive. Also, the fact that they’re just having fun, and not trying to interpret it in a very deep and artistic way. Compared to dancing, this isn’t Twyla Tharpe, it’s Bill Robinson (If those names aren’t familiar to you, look them up, you’ll see what I mean).

 

5 thoughts on “Other Stuff – Sign Language

  1. Well Mike, I don’t know sign language, but it is a very cute video indeed. As expressive as the signing is, without the background music, I would have had just about no idea of what they were conveying. But even without the music, it was clear that the message was happy, and involved the other person.

    Two points:
    1. I wish I knew sign language
    2. Looking forward to when no one will need it. THAT will be awesome.

    By the way, I am amused again by your reference to people that are evidently widely known, but that are completely outside my realm of awareness (Twyla Tharpe and Bill Robinson). Not amused at you so much as my incomprehension. Wrong word. Incognition. Reminds me of the entry you had about the wildly popular basketball player who I was completely unaware of, even though I think I do a pretty good job of keeping up with current news (what was his name?? Duncan Masheen or something like that). 🙂

    Thanks for keeping us posted on stuff that you will NEVER see on network TV. Keep up the good work buddy!!

Leave a Reply

